Data in the CID are available in five sub-national geographical levels

  1. Provincial/Territorial

  2. Economic Region

  3. Census Division

  4. Census Subdivision (community level)

  5. Health Regions

    Most of the demographic and socio-economic data in the CID are available at all five levels of geography.  Crime data are available at the provincial level.  Health data are available at the health region level. Agriculture data are available at the census division, economic region and provincial level.
    Statistics Canada’s hierarchy of standard geographic units for dissemination of the 2006 Census of Canada contains a visual representation of the geography used in the Community Information Database.  To view Statistics Canada’s Census geography
    click here

Statistics Canada Maps:
Economic Regions and Census Divisions
Census Divisions




Go to Data

Rural Fact

Although rural Canada's population is generally older (median age 42.1) than the population of urban Canada (median age 38.9), rural remote areas in Territories are much younger (median age 27.6) due to an...